Color Upkeep Do’s and Don’ts

Let me begin by saying that this is going to be list of general Do’s and Don’ts to help resist color fading as much as possible and I’m going to be doing a review on the products that I use , feel free to try another brand and you can even leave your own review in the comments!

Do’s

  1. Use Sulfate Free Shampoo and Conditioner , sulfates cause your color to fade much quicker , there are different lines that do Sulfate free shampoos and conditioners. Initially, I used the Loreal Sulfate Free system, both the EverPure and EverSleek lines but honestly I did not really like either. I trusted this line because it’s Loreal, and they are experts in hair care, but both of these left my hair feeling “heavy” and I never really got that really clean feeling, not to mention that the shampoo itself never really got “sudsy and foamy” so maybe that’s why it never really felt clean. It was also a bit pricey but comparable to other sulfate free lines.loreal-hair-sulfate-free I recently discovered a new line of hair care products called Hask . The range includes shampoos, conditioners, deep conditioners and shine oils based on the key ingredients of Argan Oil, Monoi Coconut Oil, Charcoal Citrus Oil, Macadamia Oil, Keratin Protein Oil, Bamboo Oil, Kalahari Melon Oil, and Mint Almond Oil. HASK Shampoos, Conditioners and Shine Oils are free of sulfates, parabens, drying alcohols, phthalates, gluten and artificial colors. I am in LOVE with this product, I use the  Kalahari Melon Oil Color Protection shampoo and conditioner. This has been a lifesaver for me,  it smells so yummy and my hair feels fantastic after, it’s soft, feels very “light” and my hair feels clean! AND it’s very affordable! Definitely cheaper than the Loreal line, I honestly cannot say enough good things about this line, if you are looking for a sulfate free line of products, I recommend these. hask-melon-oil-shampoo2
  2. Wash your hair in cool or cold water as much as possible, as mentioned in a previous post, hot water opens up the “pores” in your hair and hence your hair color goes down the drain. Cold\Cool water seals up those “pores” and your color remains intact.
  3. It’s a good idea to use a pre-wash primer in your hair to help protect your color while shampooing . Pre-wash primers are usually  contain different oils to create a barrier between your color and water (as you would already know, oil and water don’t mix) . I use two different primers, not at the same time, one was more expensive than the other so I use that one sparingly. The more expensive one I use is called the Nexxus Color Assure Pre-Wash primer , it’s part of their sulfate free system.nexxus_colorassure_prewashprimer_900x900It seems to work very well in preserving color, it also has very good reviews online, I bought this one in Walgreen’s (I think) or maybe it was Burlington…the point is , I cannot find it here in Trinidad so I try not to use it too often. Anyone who is familiar with Nexxus knows that it’s a trusted brand for haircare, can’t go wrong here. The other product that I use is much more economical and I was able to get it in my own country, it’s the Garnier Fructis Color Iliuminate Marvelous Oil . This product is actually a “5 action Hair Elixir” which means it can be used 5 different ways: 1. Pre-Shampoo Treatment: Apply to hair (wet or dry) before shampooing to help prime hair locks for gentle cleaning.2. Boost Conditioning: Add 1 or 2 drops to your conditioner to help get rid of pesky knots and tangles.3. Blow-Dry Protector: Apply to damp to help protect when blow drying.4. Finish With Hi-Watt Shine: Apply to damp or dry ends to help smooth split ends and tame flyaways.5. Treat Hair Overnight:To restore softness while you sleep, work into wet or dry hair and leave in overnight.

    Honestly, I have only used it as a pre-wash primer and to smoothe out my ends, and it works great for those purposes, I can’t speak for the others listed above.p0066_packshot

     

  4. Protect your hair from UV rays. For this I use a product from the Loreal EverPure Sulfate Free line, called UV Protect Spray, you spray this on dry or damp hair to protect your color from harmful UV rays which will fade your color. I normally spray this on my hair right after I wash it.957167

Now for the Don’ts!

Don’ts

  1. Do not wash your hair everyday! This is a no-brainer, try to minimize washing to every 2-3 days , I understand that everyone’s hair is different and your hair may start to look oily or dirty by the day after washing, but that’s what hair bands are for! Trust me, if you want to keep your color as long as possible, dry shampoo needs to become your best friend. Basically , dry shampoo “refreshes” your hair, it’s a spray which has a powdery consistency that soaks up oil from your hair, so it does appear as flat. They also smell very pleasant so people think you just washed your hair,  haha! Seriously though, if you want to maintain your color , get one of these!  I use one by Garnier called Volume Extend Instant Bodifier, it works well enough, not as much as I would like but I want to finish this can before I try another brand.a6fcfd1d-256e-415c-a5e6-4cc58c99cf57-w960
  2. Try as much as possible to avoid getting your hair wet, either in the rain , at the beach, in the pool etc. Pretty much everything, everywhere will make your color fade (not to mention make your color run like crazy). Word of warning, when your hair gets wet, the color will run on EVERYTHING, your clothes, your pillow case , your towel etc. What I recommend is, if you wash your hair before bed, sleep with a towel on your pillow, if you are going to the beach, tie your hair up in a bun on top your head and do not submerge your head into the water ,you can also wear a swimming cap if you like, but personally I’m too vain for that. If you happen to get caught in a downpour, RUN FOR COVER! By the way, your color will also run when you sweat, I have ended up with my white gym top turning pink on many occasions, so you can wear a headband to avoid this.
  3. Limit your use of hair styling tools like curling irons and straightening irons, heat damages your hair . If you have colored your hair chances are that you already bleached it previously or used some sort of chemical in your hair, which means that your hair already has some level of damage. Using heat on your hair (including hair dryers) will damage your hair further and make your color also appear dull. I know it’s pretty impossible to not use styling tools sometimes , so if that is the case , use a heat protectant spray, I use  Suave Professionals Heat Protection spray , this is the only brand that I have tried so I can’t compare it to anything else, but it seems to work well, my hair does not feel “fried” or “crispy” when I style my hair.apiosrtsi__69441-1383525226-500-500

I think that’s about it for now, if I remember anything else I will add them in =) . As always feel free to ask any questions or comment  !

Leave a Reply

